Recent content by Downstairs Eddie

1. D

Unknown Sword

I started playing Exanima shortly after reading these books, and I also noticed similarities in the subtleties of storytelling. I don't know if they were a direct inspiration for Madoc and the team, but certainly that sword is Terminus Est.
  2. D

Most frustrating experience I've ever had in 20 years of gaming lol

Yeah don't use your main character in the arena for anything but pugilism matches (unless you like the extra risk). Make other characters and hire characters, then manage those ones. If they die, you only lose the character, not your main character or any others. In story mode, make sure you...
  3. D

WHY WOULD YOU DO THIS

I don't understand the problem. Just don't fight with your main character and he won't die...
  4. D

Two handed sword without point.

It's an easter egg: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terminus_Est The balance shifts because there's fluid in the blade.
  5. D

Sad update...

It's kind of funny, when there was permanent death some people thought the game was too hardcore and wanted easier combat. Now it's the opposite, not hardcore enough! I think the unconsciousness mechanic is a good idea. Combat is no easier, but the game doesn't totally end unless you cop full...
  6. D

Spears

Thrusting in general seems a bit weak in terms of damage. When I fight greatsword opponents I have a much easier time against them nowadays because they tend to thrust a lot, and it doesn't seem to do much damage to me. Before thrusting they used to be among the toughest enemies for me. I think...
  7. D

Proposition of improvement in the implementation of hired characters

Yeah I'd like to be able to hire higher-ranked mercenaries (for a higher price) so I can play doubles and skirmishes at a higher level without needing to rank them up first.
  8. D

New Arena (v 0.6.1.0 Beta)

Just enable the beta branch on Steam (go to Exanima properties, beta, opt-in).
  9. D

nothing equipped when joining Arena