About the parry mechanic:

Vold

Insider
Eventhough, the game is under development and the combat system is unfinished (the most of it is still WIP: skills, animations, movement, etc), the current combat system is not as simple as you think, and I don't blame you, because you are new to the game.

A few weeks after I started playing the game I was still using a reactive attack mode (waiting for the enemy to attack to counter), it seemed like the best way to fight. It took me months and eventually I was doing moves that I never could do before and I learned them the hard way... dying a lot.

When I started I was also tempted to suggest stuff to improve the game, but I realized that before than suggesting something I had to master the combat (which by the way, I still haven't).

Whenever I think I have mastered the combat, I watch this video:
... and I realize I'm not quite there yet.

Last edited:

Vanguarda

Holy shit, thats some very well made attacks!

But notice Mr. Vold how he barely parryies, and I guess I haven't seen 1 single ripost. The deffensive manuevers are mostly little dodge and long dodge, and these mostly backwards instead of side dodges, because using side dodges you risk needing to parry, and parrying not only can fail, as it doesn't oppen any opportunities for attacks. If he was in a smaller place with some objects, he would end up in a situation where parry would be the only deffensive option, and there is where the problem beggins imo.

Consider this situation: you are cornered by a spammy shield guy. You will have to parry his attack and lets say you do sucessfully parry it, now its time for a riposte that will probably give you a opportunity to change the tide of this fight right? Wrong, spammy shield guy will still have initiative and will hit you before your riposte can help you.