Things I do to make life easier..... (list udated 11 JUN 15)

Guy

I wanted to put some of the tips I have figured out (I assume I am not the only one on these) and wanted to put it in one place to help those who are newer to this than I. I am not good at this game yet, but I have picked up a few things.

1) (mentioned before) I try to think of combat WASD keys as forward-back, and shield-sword. I even say it out loud when I am in arena and often in combat in the dungeon. This helps my whole left/right confusion when not behind the character in a fight, so I am not having to really concentrate on movement as much anymore and I can focus more on timing and defense.

2) When I get the bill, or to a lesser extent other weapons, and I have an encounter I struggle with, I will stack a bunch of chairs if readily available in front of the doorway or hall or what have you and fight over the the top. The enemy usually trips up or at least struggles and the polearm takes them out handily. I find this as the life saving if cowardly approach when dealing with the axes (I struggle against those and the sickle-on-a-steek the most it seems) or multiple opponents. Often a few waves of my equipped weapon bring them running into my mess. It does need to be set just past where the door swings of course.

3) When fighting in the dark, I seem to get more light if I set the torch on the edge of a box, table, etc where possible. The fire head must be off the support in the open to give the most benefit. Setting it unlit end down in a bucket should work as well, I haven't experimented with that yet, but I intend to tonight.